Lessons on Writing: Great Ads

It’s been two weeks of advertising, and book sales have been pretty good. A big thank you to everyone who has purchased one of my stories.

I wanted to make a post about the great promotional services out there. Without their help, I would not have been able to spread the word about my new book,  The Almshouse.

coveralmsh3

(I also changed the cover.)

Here’s a list of tried and true advertising services for other authors out there:

Readers in the Know: (free) I have to say this guy is great. He put ads for my book on his website, facebook, and twitter. I will definitely continue using his service. I think I will purchase his gold promo package in December.

BookKitty on fiverr: ($5) I used her before and was happy to purchase again. She’s very professional and tries to do as much as she can for her customers.

Bknights on fiverr: (same $5) This man works miracles. Seriously, you cannot ask for a better ad. He’s very easy to communicate with, flexible in terms of dates, and his website is very well put together. With this and my own promotions and a couple of my friends sharing my posts on facebook and group text messages, my book was pushed from rank 49,000’s to #6,590. Also I got #9, #10, and #16 on the Top 100 Bestsellers lists for 3 categories. If you’re just starting out, or running low on funds, try Bknights. (Also, and this is a rumor, but it seems he gives refunds for the books he was not able to sell as well as he wanted)

Goodreads: (free) I found a group of people who will give one honest review each for a free copy of the book. I sent them each a PDF, so hopefully that will turn into something. I also found a person who runs a book feature blog. It’s free but you have to apply. It’s an up and starting blog, so I’ll let you know how it goes.

Asking for friends to help: (free) It’s funny. The years I spent as an artist, I built up a network of people. One of them has decided to take up promoting my book in exchange for some of my artwork. He was able to secure 6 sales in the last couple of hours. If anyone had a previous job before writing, I recommend falling back on the old network.

eBook Booster: ($25) Good people. They’re very professional, act quickly, and they really make sure all the work is done as promised. I will definitely use them again when I can figure out how the countdown deals work.

ENT: ($30) Received a cordial email from ENT today notifying me of the acceptance of my book. The processing was surprisingly quick. Will update this based on change and status.

Readfree.ly: (free) First thing’s first: the guy who owns this website is very nice. He got back to me within a day and I saw the ad go up the day after. That being said, my own sales did not benefit significantly from Readfree.ly, but it might be cause of my genre. I would definitely not hesitate to recommend the site to others. It’s free… there’s nothing to lose.

Readcheaply.com: (free for a limited time) I think they were responsible for my sudden increase in sales this past Wednesday. In my absentmindedness, I forgot to keep track of when this ad was supposed to kick in. But since it’s free for a limited time, I definitely recommend this service. They’re more likely than not responsible for the sudden +13 I saw from my usual daily sales.

Do you have a service you like? Feel free to share your experience.

Published by

blanchecking

Retired artist, aspiring author, junior law associate by day.

3 thoughts on “Lessons on Writing: Great Ads”

  1. Thanks for this information! I’ll have to try a few of these. I’ve always had good luck with AwesomeGang. The last time I did a promotion with them, I made a mistake and submitted the wrong link. And even though it was MY fault, he offered me a great deal for my next promotion to make up for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

