Lessons about Writing: Emotions

After a day of speaking with representatives at multiple companies, the problem from yesterday had finally been taken care of. I’m very grateful right now to the good people who helped me. Thank you, really. It’s been a huge relief.

Before I start, I want to preface this entry with the fact that I’m not angry at the Fiverr lady anymore. Though she and I could not reach an agreement, there were faults on both sides, and really I should have avoided the situation by asking for recommendations before I commissioned any kind of advertisements.

That said, the conclusion of the story is as such…

Last night, I thought it would be a good idea to reach out of the Fiverr lady via email to ask her if she is willing to put feelings aside so we can sort out our differences. I said I really do not want to make her angry or hurt her feelings, I just want to talk out our differences. I told her that while she can prove she offered 2/3 of the services her ad promised, I would have been okay with that if she had shown me. (24,800/35,000 is a lot closer than 430/35,000). I gave her my perspective and asked her to share hers. Maybe we can figure something out, I suggested.

This morning, I received a response email from her. No, she does not want to talk. She wants me to email Fiverr and tell them I was wrong, to reinstate her business, and to give her $5. Then she wanted me to take down my review of her service in a reader’s forum. Then she wanted me to tell Mr. Gene Geter, the other author who was upset by the situation, to remove his blog about the issue. She said I am to do this without contacting her again, because if I contact her again, she will report it as “cyberbullying.” She said when she sees that all of her requests are met, she will then remove her blog posts about my book and Mr. Gene Geter’s books. I spoke with Gene Geter about this. He does not want to do as she says. I can’t say I blame him.

I did not respond to her email. There’s no need to drag this out anymore. Instead, I should focus on what I’ve learned, which is that controlling my emotions in the face of situations like this is a must. If I have gotten upset in the past, I must not do that anymore. Upset helps no one, but hurts at least two people, and authors losing their tempers are perceived as unprofessional, whether they’re right or not. We have but one reputation. I do not want to start my career in such an unpleasant light.

In hindsight, I am grateful for this lesson. Better now than later, and better early than late. There are many other things to do instead. My marketing team is working hard, and a friend was able to speak with a NYT bestselling author, and that author has agreed to look at my book. Maybe this will turn into something. Maybe not. But at least it’s something to aspire to.

Published by

blanchecking

Retired artist, aspiring author, junior law associate by day.

2 thoughts on “Lessons about Writing: Emotions”

Leave a Reply

